How to Make Chia Egg Replacer

Soaked chia seeds

For baking recipes that require an egg, there are several options you can try if you prefer not to eat eggs. Each of these options will give varying results, so it’s sometimes worth it to play around a bit and find the one that suits you best:

  • A powdered egg replacer, like Ener-G Egg Replacer, which you can buy at health food stores
  • A ripe banana
  • Applesauce, depending on the recipe and the amount of oils in it

But one of my go-to favorites when I don’t want to include eggs is making an egg substitute out of chia seeds.

Soaked chia seeds

For those of you not yet familiar with chia seeds, yes, they are the same ones that made Chia Pets famous. But you can buy them these days in any health food store or online. The benefits of chia are bountiful:

  • They’re loaded with fiber and omega-3s.
  • They are an excellent source of magnesium and calcium, which help with several crucial functions, including relaxation.
  • They’re gluten-free and grain-free.
  • They add bulk, fill you up, and help to regulate elimination (yer poops!).

When you add water to chia seeds, they turn into kind of a gel. If you ever did have a Chia Pet, you probably remember this goo. Well, this goo is also an excellent substitute for eggs in baking! And it’s super-easy to make. Here’s how.

Chia Egg Replacer:

  • For one egg equivalent, add 1 Tbsp. chia seeds to 3 Tbsp. water.
  • Let sit for 15 minutes. Stir, then use as you would eggs in baking.

That’s it! So easy and now you can get on with your baking. Enjoy!

Do you use egg replacements in your baking?

Did you ever have a Chia Pet?

About andrea drugay

San Francisco hairstylist and writer

49 responses to “How to Make Chia Egg Replacer

  1. I haven’t ever tried this. So then do you have a Tbsp. of crunchy seeds in whatever you’re baking?

    • Yeah, they’re a little crunchy, though depending on what else you have in the recipe, you might notice them or not. If you look at my recipe for Carrot Breakfast Cookies, for instance, you don’t notice them at all in those! But in a softer baked good, you might. You can also use chia meal or grind the seeds yourself to a similar effect, though! :-)

    • Katr

      Grinding seeds in coffee grinder is the way I think works well. Then add water to gridded chia seeds, works the same for flax seeds. This way has no crunch factor:)

  2. My chia pet was a big disappointment, it just got sort of mouldy with a few desultory sprouts. Using chia as an egg replacer however has been a smashing success! I love how light it makes baked goods and the fabulous nutritional benefits are the icing on the cake!

  3. I love using egg substitutes! Not only are they easy, but they are much more cost effective too. I usually use chia or flax mixed with water and it always turns out brilliantly in baked goods

  4. Pingback: How to Make Chia Egg Replacer « andrea drugay - chia-seeds

  5. Chia and I are buds. Love this stuff. A tablespoon added to oatmeal makes it like pudding!

  6. jackieofmarinmamacooks

    Wow, I never knew you could substitute chia seeds for an egg. How did you find out about this? I have tried chia seeds but I can’t handle the gel consistency. I have put them on my morning cereal and I have to wolf it down before the milk gets all gel-like. The only way I have enjoyed them is topped on a spoonful of peanut butter.

    • That’s a great question! I actually have NO idea where I first heard about it, but I first tried it less than a year ago… maybe read it on someone else’s blog? Haha, so weird. I didn’t come up with it up myself, though :-)

    • Tara

      Oh Jackie you gotta try it in yogurt. I put a few tblsp in my tea or juice throughout the day. You can make chia bread that is pretty darn good too. Or put it in your kids or your own jelly. (you can even make your own jelly… with cooking fruit or raw and mixing it!) this stuff is so healthy and alot more versatile than most think!

  7. Chia seeds are the best! I haven’t used them in cooking, though.

  8. Pingback: Grain-Free Sprouted Bean Bread (Vegan, Gluten-Free) « andrea drugay

  9. Pingback: our favorite buckwheat pancake recipe « gabriella's kitchen

  10. Pingback: Cauliflower Crust Pizza with Balsamic Glazed Onions & Peppers (Grain-Free, Gluten-Free) « andrea drugay

  11. Pingback: Vegan Cauliflower Crust Pizza (Grain-Free, Gluten-Free) « andrea drugay

  12. Pingback: Maple Pecan Cookies: Wheat vs. Gluten-free Oat « Raised from Scratch

  13. Hi, Just wanted to let you know I’m loving your site, and just linked to this page in my latest post for Gluten-free Maple Pecan Oat Cookies at Raisedfromscratch.com. I’ll be trying your Cauliflower Pizza Crust and Flaxseed Wrap recipes very soon – they look awesome, and look forward to reading more of your posts :)

    Best,
    Anna

  14. Pingback: Italian coffee cupcakes « Julienne

  15. Pingback: Italian coffee cupcakes | Julienne

  16. Pingback: 2012-11-16 Fabulous Friday Finds « surviving the food allergy apocalypse

  17. Pingback: Chocolate Breakfast Bread (Vegan, Gluten-Free, No Sugar Added) « andrea drugay

  18. Hush, Charlotte

    Mostly I just drink my chia seeds. I want to try it as an egg replacement in my favorite cookie recipe. Do you grind the chia seeds for this or leave them whole? I’ve heard of grinding them, but haven’t tried it yet.

  19. Pingback: Marbled Peanut Butter and Jam Banana Bread | food to glow

  20. Reblogged this on Health and Wellness and commented:
    Great Egg Replacement for cooking!!!

  21. I used chia seed the first time tonight. I haven’t had much luck with egg replacers, as I am also gluten free so it seems I just can’t get the right consistency in most things. Tonight I made some muffins and did the chia egg for one egg (ground the chia seeds first) and for the other egg, I used 1/2 tsp of corn starch, 1/2 tsp of baking powder and about 1/4 tsp of cream of tarter (this is something I just came up with) – I was amazed at the consistency of the muffins. very delicious. I am not sure if it was my egg or the chia. Perhaps both worked very well together

  22. Colette

    I am eating chia pudding right now! =)
    Gonna try using it as an egg replacer too.

  23. Pingback: the art of eating in: quinoa bites with roasted red pepper spread | this life, designed ::

  24. Pingback: Pumpkin Oatmeal Bites | livingaunaturale

  25. Pingback: Supplements That Supplement | Living Clean and Fit

  26. Pingback: Food Journal: Day 1 |

  27. Pingback: Foodie Tuesday: Vegan Chili and Cornbread Like You’ve Never Seen Before | I Eat Grass

  28. Kellie

    Oh my gosh. I don’t know what we did wrong, but my friend and I just tried this tip in our box brownies mix and it’s failing miserably! Replaced the egg with a quick chia gel like you said but the brownies haven’t become solid after cooking! Totally soupy/gooey.. Any thoughts on what happened?

  29. Pingback: Making the Perfect Veggie Burger | Plant Based Traveler

  30. Pingback: AMAZING Blueberry Almond Chia Scones | The Honeybee Home

  31. Pingback: Pumpkin overload! | The daily grapefruit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

