Easy Flaxseed Wrap (Gluten-Free)

Easy Flaxseed Wrap

To see all recipes, scroll to the top and click on Recipes or just click here!

Last week, I posted my recipe for Collard Wraps, a delicious and healthy portable lunch. But I have to admit ~ as much as I LOVE my greens (and I really do), sometimes I want something… fluffier. Bread-ier. More “traditional.” Carb-ish.

We’ve been staying away from wheat and flour around here, for various reasons, and I certainly feel excellent as a result. However! I do occasionally miss a sandwich or burrito.

Well, to my excitement, I discovered this recipe for super-easy wraps made with flaxseed meal, that are the perfect stand-in for a tortilla, pita, or bread. The recipe came from the book Wheat Belly (read my Goodreads review), a very interesting new title about the development of modern wheat and why it causes so many problems for so many people.

The wrap is fluffy, like a pita, but malleable, like a tortilla. So, if you want something less “green” but still super-healthy, you can follow my recipe for Collard Wraps but use these, instead! I’ve found these wraps to be an excellent alternative to any carb-o-licious, flour-based foods I might be craving. They are also delicious when spread with almond butter or cream cheese!

If you make these, I’d love to hear what you spread and/or filled them with, or if you tried an alternative recipe!

Easy Flaxseed Wrap

Easy Flaxseed Wrap (Gluten-Free)

Ingredients

  • 3 Tbsp. ground flaxseeds
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1 Tbsp. water
  • 1 large egg

Steps

  1. Mix all ingredients together and blend well.
  2. Warm a 10-inch skillet. Add coconut oil to grease if you want.
  3. Pour in the batter and spread evenly across the bottom.
  4. Cook for about 3 minutes.
  5. Lift the edge with a spatula and slide onto a plate. Let cool for at least 5 minutes. Enjoy!
Adjust the recipe as necessary for your needs and tastes. You can determine the nutritional content of your final product using Recipe Calculator.

Do you ever stay away from wheat and/or flour?

If so, do you have any favorite alternatives to bread, pitas, and tortillas?

About andrea drugay

Space traveler, part-time genius, firestarter.

40 responses to “Easy Flaxseed Wrap (Gluten-Free)

  1. I too am on the GF train and wondered about these wraps. Thanks for road testing them!!

    • My pleasure! I think the recipes in the book are all yummy. I also tried the cheesecake but didn’t get photos, so I’ll have to make another before I blog it. Drat! ;-)

      • How was the cheesecake? I loved that book but some of the food suggestions seemed so 90’s. The flax wrap looked the best.

      • The cheesecake was pretty good. I made it with an almond crust and that turned out well. TBH, though, I’ve made dozens of cheesecakes in my life and this wasn’t #1, but definitely not bad. I’m happy with the almond crust, though!

      • Yeah, sometimes recipes are a win for just one component, an almond crust for example. Good to know, thanks again for reviewing these. I was so curious!

  2. I’m a gf gal all the way…and these sound perfect!!! Do you think they will freeze at all? I use gf corn tortillas sometimes but find that they fall apart really easily. Lately I’ve been eating a gf buckwheat sourdough loaf when I get the hankering for a piece of toast. It’s delish spread with almond butter or avocado :)

    • That’s a great question. I have no idea how well they’d freeze. I do know that when I made a few and stored them in a Ziplock, they got a little soggy. But that’s no indication how well they’d freeze. It’s so nice to have a YUMmy toast alternative!

      • Mickey Adams

        I added 1 tsp of almond meal and then baked them in a warm oven for 1 hour, on the lowest setting, it dries them out nicely so they taste more substantial and less floppy. They kept in my fridge for a week and a half till I ate them all up. I have been looking for a way to make simple delicious gf wraps for at least 2 years. These are amazing and hold together so well. Thanks!

      • I cooked them in the pan first and then in the warm oven. Sorry for the confusion!

  3. I totally want to make these!!! They look great!

  4. Pingback: Buckwheat Flax Crepes & Spiced Raisin Mascarpone (gluten-free) « Raised from Scratch

  5. Hi! I made these today but they taste like egg omelette and break easily :( Plus, it doesn’t spread easily.

    Where did I go wrong? I subbed the coconut oil for butter tho…

  6. I made these today with olive oil as I didn’t have any coconut oil and i made them in my nonstick fry pan like a pancake. The first one broke as I tried to turn it too soon. I let the second one cook for longer on low with the lid on and it turned out perfect. I’m not a fan of microwave cooking so if anyone is looking to use a fry pan, it works!!

    I’m just wondering if 3TBSP of flax is not too much as a daily consumption? I read somewhere that you should start with one TBSP and build it up to 2 per day as it can cause constipation….. too much fibre maybe. Any insight on this?

    • Phit

      Drink lots of water with it but fiber does not cause constipation. A lot of it can be uncomfortable though so lubricate it with plenty of water.

  7. Leone

    I’m just about to order a Tortilla press and use it for this recipe. My husband likes the low card ones he orders from a supermarket online, they work out expensive with postage so as I make my own bread I’ll try this recipe. and let you know how it turns out.

    • Bruce

      Are you using a tortilla press or a “tortilla maker” (i.e. something that just forms them, or something that forms and cooks them)?

      • Leone

        Hi,
        I’ll be using a press that just forms them. Haven’t got round to ordering one yet though.

  8. Phit

    I like these but achieving the right consistency takes practice. I took away 1 Tbsp of Flaxseed and replaced it with Almond Flour which is fluffier and adds a nice flavor/texture counter to the flaxseed. Also, you can add some vanilla to add some sweetness without loading up the sugar. Just 1/2 tsp is enough to offset the graininess of the flax without making it taste like a sweet food.

  9. niki

    The picture and the comments are soo beguiling, but I’ve tried these three times and have yet to achieve anything but delicious pan fried crumble. . Since I live in Taiwan and eggs are small, perhaps I need to try using two eggs. Not….giving…up

  10. Bruce

    I make it with much more water (1/4 cup), and pour it out onto a hot griddle. It spreads on its own with no need to try to “stretch” it out with a spatula. You have to pour it all out immediately because the flax will absorb the water over time and it will thicken…

  11. mary pikka

    is there a way to sweeten this just a bit without vanilla, sugar, or artificial sweetners? I’m thinking maybe putting a little ripe banana might be tasty, but would also add a small amount of carbs, depending on what is being aimed for. Also, the first time I made this, I think it cooked it on too high of a temp. I have an electric range(which I don’t care for), and found that just under high was too high. Turned out good otherwise, just exceptionally bland, although I’m new to paleo, so maybe my tastebuds are still adjusting. I appreciate the texture though:)

  12. I mixed a couple of wraps this evening using modifications posted earlier by others.
    One tablespoon of flaxseed meal was swapped for one tbsp of almond flour, and the water was increased to 1/8 cup.
    The microwave had been cooking them well, before, but they were ending up crisp – still quite delicious, just crisp.
    This time I used a skillet and ended up with two fluffy (and foldable) wraps.
    A few more of those this weekend might be made into pancakes.

  13. The key to this I think is double the water at least, maybe sub out the almond flour though I didn’t because of nut allergies, and cook it LOW. I had my burner between 2 and 3. and I flipped mine. I also spread it out and worked with it until it was evenly dispersed with a spatula. But doing all of the above, mine turned out great. Also, I subbed butter and olive oil for coconut oil so not sure that was the problem. and added a touch of raw honey for sweetness. They are flexible and delicious.

  14. Susan

    What is the purpose of the paprika? It doesn’t have any taste as far as I know.

    Thanks! Looking forward to trying these this weekend.

  15. I made these, only I could not get the batter to spread out evenly in my hot pan.I used the coco oil too. I just ate it with a fork, turkey, avocado, salsa, cheese slightly melted in the microwave. HOW to you get it perfectly round..or do they just come out a bit thicker like pancakes? I made flakseed bread, its like focaccia or flat bread. fabulous.

  16. charlie

    This was great! If someone is looking for a lower calories version I subbed the tablespoon of coconut oil (120 calories) with a tablespoon of canned pumpkin puree (7 calories). It didn’t make it taste like pumpkin and it held together amazingly!! I did put a very small amount of olive oil in the pie pan before I poured the batter to prevent sticking. Seriously easiest and tastiest wrap I’ve had. Even my non gf boyfriend approved. Oh yeah and I used the pie pan/microwave version from the original recipe and it took about 4 mins. My microwave always takes longer. Will try in the skillet next time but this was so easy.

  17. Linda Leeman

    My husband is diabetic. I am making fish tacos for dinner so instead of using the regular wraps that are full of bad carbs I am making these instead..

  18. Nikki

    I made this for breakfast in a cast iron frying pan, then spread almond butter then added a sprinkle of cinnamon and sliced bananas and ate it like a quesadilla. Delish!

  19. Heather

    Your perfect little wrap has revolutionized our little boy’s meals. Our 5-yr-old has a syndrome that causes intolerances to over 20 foods and ingredients and he’s sooo tired of the “bread” I make for him. We’re all giddy to be watching him eat a sandwich again – and again – and again :-)

    Thank-you SOOOOO much for posting this, hon!

    • Thanks for your comment, Heather! To give credit where credit is due, though, the recipe came from the book, “Wheat Belly” — I just shared my results because I loved the recipe so much! :-) I’m happy to hear you’re able to share it with your son! :-D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

